[syndicated profile] metafilter_feed

Posted by kristi

"It is on us, the people, to show that we will fight to protect one another and our country." No Kings protests are happening all over the United States on March 28. Indivisible invites you to be a part of the largest day of protest in US history. The ACLU urges you to join us at No Kings on March 28. Unions like the AAUP and the UUP and AFSCME and the Texas AFL-CIO will see you at No Kings on March 28. The Interfaith Alliance will meet you at No Kings on March 28.

No Kings partners include everyone from GLAAD to SEIU to Voto Latino to Veterans for Peace to CREW to the Sierra Club. "This movement is for everyone, and we mean that:" on March 28, No Kings is offering two virtual events for anyone who'd like to join in but can't be there in person; in addition, No Kings is working to make as many in-person events as possible ADA compliant. No Kings, and organizations like Indivisible, offer trainings, toolkits, and all kinds of resources to help everyone take the energy of the day and continue to act for real and lasting change. "Throughout 2025, in the face of unprecedented attacks, millions of us joined together in our communities and held the largest single day of morally grounded, nonviolent direct actions by any movement in US history. Each time we show up, we disrupt President Trump's attempts to rule through repression and remind the country, and the world, that people power is our path to a truly free America." The resistance that's coming together to defeat authoritarianism is global - March 28 is also the date for the Together Alliance March to stop the far right: Billy Bragg calls for big turnout at London march against far right, The Guardian, Robyn Vinter:
Bragg said that [the far right's message] could be countered when people came together ... "You see a lot of people out on the streets marching for the kind of politics that you want," he said. "And you feel, for a moment, you feel seen. You feel that your concerns are legitimate. And that's a really important thing. It's the start of something."
[syndicated profile] ask_metafilter_feed

Posted by kristi

There's a jianbing place I've thought about trying, but I'm only doing takeout these days and it'd be about half an hour between buying and eating. I know the whole deal with jianbing is that it's supposed to be eaten RIGHT AWAY. Would a half-hour-old jianbing be good (just not as good as eating it immediately), or disappointing enough to avoid altogether?

If I do this, and get a jianbing to eat when I get home, should I try reheating it at all?

Would YOU get a jianbing to eat later at home? Or have you in fact done this?

Thanks!

open thread – March 27, 2026

Mar. 27th, 2026 03:00 pm
[syndicated profile] askamanager_feed

Posted by Ask a Manager

It’s the Friday open thread!

The comment section on this post is open for discussion with other readers on any work-related questions that you want to talk about (that includes school). If you want an answer from me, emailing me is still your best bet*, but this is a chance to take your questions to other readers.

* If you submitted a question to me recently, please do not repost it here, as it may be in my queue to answer.

The post open thread – March 27, 2026 appeared first on Ask a Manager.

[syndicated profile] metafilter_feed

Posted by subdee

During testimony before the US Senate, I called it the largest fraud in the history of the US immigration system. In fact, it is likely the first $1 billion fraud—a theft of processing fees for services never rendered. Even Republican Senator John Kennedy of Louisiana told me at the hearing that he was shocked it was happening. It is happening, and it is shocking.

Via Common Dreams: An immigration researcher at the Cato Institute found that the Trump administration is "raking in billions of dollars in immigration fees and not providing the adjudications that applicants are entitled to." A report published last week by the Cato Institute, written by director of immigration studies David J. Bier, found that the State Department and Department of Homeland Security were receiving millions of applications from immigrants whom Trump has made ineligible for legal status and pocketing the fees without ever processing the requests. "The US government collected over $1 billion in immigration fees then refused to process the applications," said Austin Kocher, a fellow at Immigration Lab and a professor at Newhouse and Syracuse University in a social media post breaking down the report on Monday. "No denials. No refunds. Just silence." *** Before this gets buried under the news about the ground invasion of Iran, which could happen as soon as this weekend, I thought I'd share this story about the government defrauding visa seekers en masse. BTW, No Kings 3 is this Saturday, March 28th.
[syndicated profile] ask_metafilter_feed

Posted by ssri

I am trying to research this idea and not sure how to look for studies/perspectives. How does one resolve contrastive self-perspectives in a group selfie where the default is the image is flipped to match a mirror look? Are there studies or papers on this? Experimental, theoretical etc... Where could I find something connected to this? I am familiar with pubmed, google scholar, yada yada, and open to a variety of treatments (artistic, scientific/psychological, HCI), but I am not sure what to search for.

Naively speaking, when I take a selfie with a phone front camera the image is usually flipped to mimic a mirror perspective (or the way we are used to seeing ourselves) which kinda makes sense to me. Or perhaps this is not the default. On my Pixel phone there is an option that says "save selfies as seen on screen" (which I guess is a mirror) is checked. In a group selfie, when the whole image is flipped, I get to see myself as I see in a mirror, while the others look odd because they are also flipped, in contrast to how I see them in real life. In turn, they experience the same thing about themselves and others. Then, are there perspectives explored seriously on how we might see ourselves in a group setting, say using the back camera with no flipping vs. front camera, or say the act of "selfie"ing itself informing the group setting experience and so on? Are there parallels to other forms of interaction/communication eg: talking or writing. Thanks!

Apologies for the confusing title if it doesn't capture what I am trying to convey.
[syndicated profile] metafilter_feed

Posted by postcommunism

The Shajareh Tayyebeh primary school building in Minab had been classified as a military facility in a Defense Intelligence Agency database that, according to CNN, had not been updated to reflect that the building had been separated from the adjacent Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps compound and converted into a school, a change that satellite imagery shows had occurred by 2016 at the latest. A chatbot did not kill those children. People failed to update a database, and other people built a system fast enough to make that failure lethal.


The Maven Smart System is the platform that came out of those exercises, and it, not Claude, is what is being used to produce "target packages" in Iran. There are real limits to what a civilian such as myself can know about this system, and what follows is based on publicly available information, assembled from Palantir product demos, conferences, as well as instructional material produced for military users. But we can know quite a bit. The Maven interface looks like a military-skinned version of corporate project management software crossed with a mapping application. What the military analyst building the target list sees is either a map layered with intelligence data or a screen organised into columns, each representing a stage of the targeting process. Individual targets move across the columns from left to right as they progress through each stage, a format borrowed from Kanban, a "lean manufacturing" workflow system developed at Toyota, and now widely used in software development.
brightknightie: Girl running into the wind with a kite in summer (Enthusiasms)
[personal profile] brightknightie
I almost never post about non-fannish things here. I'm making a rare exception for this one. ♥

The third "No Kings" event is tomorrow, Saturday, March 28, everywhere. Go to https://www.nokings.org/, scroll down to "Find an event near you," and enter your zip code or address. You can sign up or just show up. Be peaceful, be joyful, show each other we're not alone.

After, find the next thing you can do, perhaps at https://indivisible.org/get-involved/find-a-group/. Stuffing envelopes, writing letters, making calls, giving rides ... there's something that suits you that will help.

(Thank for your indulgence of this non-fannish post. Back to all fannish here now!)

[syndicated profile] metafilter_feed

Posted by chavenet

Under microscopic magnification, the unique beauty and individual character of sand grains reveal a diverse origin reflecting geological history and marine life biodiversity. Sand is everywhere on earth – on our beaches, in our deserts, and on the bottoms of lakes, rivers and oceans. Sand particles are coarser than silt but finer than gravel, ranging in size from 0.02 to 2 mm. They are created when weather and chemicals break down terrestrial rocks, minerals, marine bivalves, corals, mollusks, bryozoans, and foraminifera.
[syndicated profile] ask_metafilter_feed

Posted by an octopus IRL

I am going to Greece! I don't know the Greek alphabet and, mostly for fun but a little for practicality, I would like to be able to pronounce words written with this alphabet. I don't care about meaning or vocabulary, just being able to read words (e.g. street signs) aloud. Looking for resources to practice this.

Specifically, I'm looking for a website that will show me a word in Greek and after a transliteration (definition too is great but not required, I only need to know how to say words), but I don't want to see them at the same time, I want to try to sound out the word in Greek before I see how it's pronounced. The page at https://www.greekpod101.com/greek-word-lists/?coreX=100 worked pretty well since I could scroll down slowly, see the word, try to sound it out, then see the transliteration and definition, but I don't see a ton of similar pages. Bonus points for something that shows you names of places in Greece with the transliteration (but, again, I need to see the transliteration AFTER I read the word). I don't need anything fancy, just looking to learn and practice. Thank you for any help you can provide!

Tracy Kidder (1945-2026)

Mar. 27th, 2026 07:27 am
[syndicated profile] metafilter_feed

Posted by BobTheScientist

Tracy Kidder died this week, lung cancer. Starting with The Soul of the New Machine (1981) [Sada El Balad] Tracy Kidder repeatedly turned environments that resist easy storytelling into page-turning narratives. That was not achieved by simply choosing dramatic scenes; his work often confronted settings where "not a lot happens, " as he put it when describing the challenge of shaping life inside a Northampton, Massachusetts, nursing home for Old Friends. The craft problem was structural: how to make incremental changes and small interactions accumulate into meaning. The solution, visible across his books, was to treat micro-events as moral and emotional evidence.
beatrice_otter: Captain America (Captain America)
[personal profile] beatrice_otter posting in [community profile] fancake
Fandom: MCU
Pairings/Characters: Loki, Thor
Rating: Gen
Length: 13k
Creator Links:
Theme: siblings, AU, fork in the road, character development, gen, politics, family,

Summary: "Because you are my brother," Thor told him.

(Politics and family on Asgard. A brotherly love story.)

Reccer's Notes: This goes AU just after the first Thor movie. It's a fascinating exploration of what might have been, and of Thor and Loki and Odin and what it means to be King of Asgard.

Fanwork Links: That Sheds His Blood With Me
beatrice_otter: Babylon 5--Vir waving (Vir's wave)
[personal profile] beatrice_otter posting in [community profile] fancake
Fandom: BBC Sherlock
Pairings/Characters: Sherlock Holmes, John Watson
Rating: teen
Length: 3k
Creator Links: [archiveofourown.org profile] AJHall 
Theme: siblings, family, gen, friendship, asexual characters, fandom classic

Summary: "Anyway. Enough of my embarrassing sibling brothel stories. Tell me yours."

A Sherlock conversation, over breakfast.

Reccer's Notes: I am shocked to find that this fic has not been recced before! This is a such a lovely picture of John and Sherlock's relationship, contrasted with Sherlock and Mycroft's relationship. (Not all sibling relationships are good or healthy.)

Fanwork Links: Breakfast at 221B

Follow Friday 3-27-26

Mar. 27th, 2026 12:41 am
ysabetwordsmith: Cartoon of me in Wordsmith persona (Default)
[personal profile] ysabetwordsmith posting in [community profile] followfriday
Got any Follow Friday-related posts to share this week? Comment here with the link(s).

Here's the plan: every Friday, let's recommend some people and/or communities to follow on Dreamwidth. That's it. No complicated rules, no "pass this on to 7.328 friends or your cat will die".

[syndicated profile] askamanager_feed

Posted by Ask a Manager

It’s four answers to four questions. Here we go…

1. How can I manage digs about remote working and return-to-office?

I’m a woman in my 60s, and before Covid I was doing a long, multi‑leg commute five days a week. Working primarily from home has dramatically improved my health, energy, productivity, and ability to manage everyday life. However, now my workplace is requiring us to be in the office more, and I’m not sure how to handle a few friends who make unsupportive comments about it. Most of my friends understand and are considerate, but a small group repeatedly dismisses my concerns.

They tell me to retire, “suck it up,” or insist that office work is better for collaboration and socializing, even though that doesn’t reflect the reality of my workplace. And the commute is the biggest factor, and they know it.

What makes this more frustrating is that these particular friends either don’t work at all or are self‑employed and mostly work from home themselves. Yet they expect me to accommodate plans that would require me to leave work early, travel late at night before early office days, or take time off. They’re unwilling to adjust plans or meet halfway, and their comments often include digs about people “slacking off” or mothers (not parents) doing school pickups. If I did resign, and took the financial hit while job‑hunting, I doubt they’d adjust their expectations or activity choices to accommodate my new budget.

I’ve tried explaining the real impact that increased commuting has on my health, time, and finances, and that I can’t reduce the burden without taking a significant financial hit. I’ve corrected misconceptions, avoided the topic, and changed the subject when they bring it up, but the comments continue. I now even dread being asked what days I’ll be in the office, because what used to be a simple scheduling question reliably turns into a rant about remote workers. I sometimes feel tempted to snap back with something unkind, but I don’t want to go there.

I can distance myself from these particular friends if I need to, but it’s made me wonder how people who deal with similar comments from relatives manage it, especially when they want to maintain those relationships and genuinely enjoy family gatherings. They just want to show up and have a pleasant time without bracing for Uncle or Aunt X to take a dig at them. I’m looking for better ways anyone in this situation can respond when these conversations keep happening despite clear discomfort.

First, why is this group of friends so focused on this topic in the first place? If you’re the one bringing it up, you should stop — for whatever reason, they’re not the right audience for it — and if it’s them, tell them you need a break from it.

But also, they don’t sound like great friends. It’s one thing to make a few out-of-touch comments because they just haven’t thought it through, but if they’re the ones initiating the topic, you’ve explained the situation, and the comments haven’t stopped and they’re unwilling to adjust any plans to allow for the reality that you have an on-site job and a commute? The issue is the friends.

But with people you can’t escape, like family members, the easiest strategy is to avoid talking about work altogether, or quickly change the topic if it comes up. “Ugh, I can’t do any more work talk right now — tell me all about how the hemorrhoid surgery was” and “Yeah, what are you gonna do — so how are the kids doing?” should become your staples (even if — and perhaps especially if — there wasn’t actually any hemorrhoid surgery).

2. My coworker doesn’t check references because “everyone just lists their friends”

I’m a manager at a smallish firm (i.e., no dedicated HR team for hiring). A colleague of mine at the same level has a couple openings on his team, and in a recent conversation told me he “never checks references, because people always just put their friends down anyways.” Yikes!

I was caught off guard by his comment in the moment, and looking back I’m curious how you’d respond to this. I think some of the issue might be how he conducts reference checks in the first place — I’ve heard it’s best to ask open-ended questions about working style, or whether a candidate is more X or more Y, versus asking whether their skills are any good or other questions where you might just get a “oh yeah, they’re great!” kind of response. I’ve also heard it can be good practice to reach out to former (not current!) companies on a candidate’s resume directly to see if there’s any info they can provide outside the provided reference list. I’m lucky enough that my team has had very little turnover since I’ve been here (so it’s been a minute since I’ve had to check references), whereas my colleague is often hiring.

First, it’s categorically not true that most people just put down their friends. Most people don’t. Occasionally someone does, and a good reference checker screens for that by getting specific information about how the reference knows the candidate, what their role was when they worked together and how their jobs intersected, and how closely they worked together.

Second, I suspect you’re right that this guy hasn’t conducted effective reference checks, if he’s conducted them all. (And yes, you are also right about asking more open-ended questions, including ones that don’t make the “right” answer obvious.) He also sounds like he sees references as pass/fail, when in fact they should be a lot more nuanced than that; someone could receive a glowing reference that makes you realize they’re not actually the strongest match for the job you’re hiring for (such as a reference who raves about how fast-paced and entrepreneurial the person is when you need someone who will thrive in a job that requires a slower, more deliberate pace and adherence to a precise structure).

As for how to respond, you could talk to him about your own experience checking references and how you’ve found it helpful … or you might just show him this!

3. Should I let my great boss know I’m thinking about leaving?

I have a weird gift: pretty quickly I become the “right hand (wo)man” of my boss in every place I’ve worked. Generally, this means that they trust me, confide in me (not inappropriately, but they may share some behind the scenes information), rely on me for feedback about decisions that they’re thinking of making, have conversations with me about kids, life, etc. I think this stems both from the fact that I’m a pretty good conversationalist and generally provide solid analytical advice, and because I’ve never abused any trust so they know I won’t gossip about things I’ve learned from these conversations. In all those cases, I’ve genuinely liked my bosses, and it has created relationships that are partially friendship-based, with them going to bat for me whenever I needed it.

However, when I’ve decided to leave because I found a better opportunity that aligns with my career goals, all my bosses have had a hard time not being personally offended that I “dropped a bomb” on them. None of them were unprofessional about it, but they were clearly hurt and confused (like starting a sentence with “I can’t believe you didn’t talk to me first, we could have worked something out…”, only to realize what they said and backtrack to “I guess you can’t really share with your boss that you’re thinking of leaving”). In all those instances, even if I had shared my intentions with them, there was really nothing they could have done — my next professional step clearly involved leaving.

Now I’ve been at the same place for four years, and I’m looking into finding a more senior role (with higher compensation), which isn’t currently available where I am. My boss and I are very close, she pushes for me to get big projects and recognition within the company, trusts me as her inner circle, and would be blindsided if I left. While the role I am looking for doesn’t currently exist here, I’m not 100% sure that it can’t be created, if absolutely necessary. Do you recommend that I broach the subject of leaving with my boss before I find another job and announce that I’m leaving? The advantage would be to give her a chance to try and create the role that I want (with commensurate compensation) and avoid blindsiding her after many instances where she went above and beyond for me. Ideally, I’d love to be able to stay under such terms. The drawback of course, is showing my cards before I have an outside offer on the table. My understanding has always been that it’s usually not a good idea to get what you want by threatening to leave. How do I navigate this?

Yes, in a situation where you’re highly valued by your boss and have a strong relationship, it can make sense to put your cards a bit on the table. It’s not about threatening to leave; it’s about sharing with her that you’re starting to think about your next step and would love to be able to stay.

So the framing isn’t “I’m starting to job search and will leave if you don’t create a role for me a role doing ABC.” It’s more: “I’m starting to think about where I want my career to take me long-term, and I’m wondering if the company would ever consider creating a role like ABC. I would love to stay here long-term, and I think that work would benefit us in XYZ ways.” You don’t need to spell out “and I will leave if the answer is no” — she’s going to be able to read between the lines and understand what you’re saying.

Related:
how to ask my company to pay me more if they want me to stay

4. Is my boss BS’ing me about why a contractor is earning so much more than me?

My boss has put me on an infernal hellscape of a group project, and I am the only person regularly working on the project who’s on staff — everyone else is a contractor. One of the contractors, “Fergus,” was brought on to essentially be a second me. Our jobs on the project are extremely similar, though I have a few added responsibilities — let’s say we are both designing the product, sourcing materials for the product, and building the product, but I am also testing the product.

Fergus is currently negotiating his contract, and I just found out that he’s asking for $30,000 more a year than I’m currently paid. While it’s extremely unlikely that he’ll get that, I talked to some of our past contractors, and I think it’s quite likely that my boss will pay Fergus over $10,000 more per year than I’m paid, even though we will be doing the same job on this group project and I will also be expected to keep performing my other duties outside of the group project.

I talked to my boss about this and said that because Fergus and I have the same duties, I would expect to be paid at least as much as him. My boss said that negotiating around this was premature, since the group project is still in its early stages. However, he then added that contractors are often paid more than staff employees because they don’t get benefits and don’t “benefit from the predictability” of being a salaried employee somewhere.

Is this even a little bit a thing? I can’t say I trust my boss to be honest about this, and my benefits package is so small that even if I factored it in, Fergus would still be getting paid more than me. Also it’s not like Fergus is some super sought after rockstar who we have to pay a lot to retain—it really just seems like the going rate for contractors went up, and my workplace is avoiding raising salaries to match them. How would you suggest I negotiate around this?

This is 100% a thing! Independent contractors are typically paid significantly more than employees (often around twice as much) because they’re responsible for their own payroll taxes (including the employer portion that your company pays for you if you’re an employee), as well as not getting health insurance or paid time off. If they were paid the same as employees, their take-home pay after all those things were deducted would be significantly less than yours, and that’s before getting into inherently having less stability than employees. $30,000 more than an employee isn’t outside the norm.

You can still negotiate if you believe your work warrants more pay than you’re getting now. You just shouldn’t base it on what contractors are getting.

The post digs about working from home, coworker doesn’t check references because “everyone just lists their friends,” and more appeared first on Ask a Manager.

[syndicated profile] ask_metafilter_feed

Posted by mecran01

So I have hearing loss in the high end. I got tested by an audiologist, and wear my hearing aids when I teach. They sort of help but I think I have some other auditory processing problem where the last three words of sentences disappear. Is it empirically true that if I don't wear my hearing aids constantly my hearing will degrade and I'll get dementia? That is the folklore I am hearing.

Second question: I got test for celiac. I have it. I feel more energetic when I don't eat wheat or gluten. However, I am wondering if my sensitivity to gluten is going to gradually increase until my bowels explode when I see a saltine. Is this increased sensitivity real?

Thank you for helping me with the aging process.

If you don't have an answer feel free to drop any amazing health tips. I am a 59.5 year old male who is getting HOLEP in a month.
[syndicated profile] metafilter_feed

Posted by Mitheral

Having a wheel break is inconvenient. Having a wheel break 225 million kilometers from the motor club is a vehicle killer. So the Curiosity rover team has come up with a plan - just rip the busted wheel off.

Fills 16-20

Mar. 27th, 2026 12:13 am
shuufleur93: (Default)
[personal profile] shuufleur93 posting in [community profile] 100fandoms
Fandoms are: Fire Country, 9-1-1, Mission: Impossible (Movies), Doctor Odyssey, Younger (TV)

006. home. Équilibre (3414 words), Doctor Odyssey, Max Bankman/Avery Morgan/Tristan Silva. Written in French. Summary: Max and Tristan were eager to see Avery again after she left for medical school, but a few setbacks will delay their reunion.

018. fix. Lifesaver (622 words), Younger, Kelsey Peters & Diana Trout. Summary: Kelsey has a surprising new partner-in-crime for a gala.

019. crack. L'annonce (596 words), Fire Country, Luke Leone & Manny Perez. Written in French. Summary: Luke tells Manny he's leaving.

027. fear. Dernier souffle (601 words), Mission: Impossible, Ilsa Faust/Ethan Hunt. Written in French. Summary: Ethan is running. After criminals, terrorists, his friends, his enemies. And now, after Ilsa. Hoping he’ll make it in time.

034. fall. Face contre terre (1117 words), 9-1-1, Evan "Buck" Buckely & Tommy Kinnard. Written in French. Summary: Tommy was no stranger to death, but seeing Buck collapse was perhaps more than he could bear.

Link to my card (20/100).
[syndicated profile] metafilter_feed

Posted by Faintdreams

Exactly what it says in the description Techno Syndrome (Mortal Kombat) - is the full name of the Mortal Kombat Game Theme music.

Video by The Speedbag Bard on Youtube: From the video description: This is a single-take recording. This is a homage to the late Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa. Punch drumming on speed bag to: Song: Techno Syndrome (Mortal Kombat) Artist: The Immortals Gear used: Swivel: Thrasherhouse BLADE Speedbag: Thrasherhouse 6x9 Pro Ball Platform by @theoriginalspeedbag Enjoy
[syndicated profile] askamanager_feed

Posted by Ask a Manager

A reader writes:

I wonder this each time I get a cold and thought I’d get your opinion. My company has hybrid work; we’re expected in the office three or more days per week. I have a cold so told my manager I’d be WFH on Monday and she was supportive. I was still feeling crummy on Tuesday so again told her I was WFH, and she again was supportive but less enthusiastically so. So now it’s Wednesday, I still have a cold but symptoms are manageable with cold meds, and I feel like I have to go in. I’m planning on wearing a mask but will still be more miserable than if I was allowed to WFH with all my creature comforts for surviving a cold. My boss hadn’t explicitly told me I need to come in but I kind of feel ridiculous working from home three days in a row just because I got a cold.

I haven’t noticed how many days my coworkers take when they’re sick but my boss is very rarely sick and I’ve never seen her take more than one day. I know you’re on the side of stay home when you’re sick, but when does that turn into me being overly cautious? (This is separate from sick days; I wasn’t feeling sick enough that I couldn’t work. Though if we take three sick days in a row, we’re supposed to provide a doctor’s note! I can’t see my boss actually asking for that though.)

Ideally, when you have the ability to work from home, you should be able to work from home when you have a cold — at least at the start of it. Some colds last for weeks and it might not be realistic to work from home the whole time, but tacking on an extra day or two to your normal two WFH days that week shouldn’t be a big deal. That’s better for everyone — you’re more comfortable than if you had to drag yourself to work (and might get more done as a result) and you’re not exposing your coworkers. If you can do your work from home, as recognized by your hybrid work policy, it just makes sense. So no, you’re not being dramatic about wanting to!

In reality, though, some managers/employers are more rigid about this than others.

So one option is to simply ask your manager: “I’m pretty miserable with this cold and I think I’ll get more done if I can work from home today, although that will put me under my in-office days for the week. I also don’t want to expose people. What’s your general feeling about working from home a few extra days during a week when we’re under the weather — is that okay to do or do you strongly prefer that we not?”

Alternately, if your sense is that if you ask she’ll tell you no, whereas if you just announce you’re doing it she won’t interfere and you have enough capital that it won’t be held against you in any long-term way even though she’d prefer you not do it, in some situations that’s the better course of action. I like directly asking the question, so you know where she stands and you’re not guessing, but sometimes the value of that is outweighed by the value of just doing what you need to do.

The post should I work from home if I have a cold? appeared first on Ask a Manager.

Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 04:03 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios